Competence matrices

Competence matrix

All applications will be assessed against the main competence matrix with the specialist matrices as advisory documents only.

Every application for accredited membership is assessed on its own merits and on demonstrated technical competence, using a scoring system (0=not demonstrated, 1=not yet demonstrated, 2=Fully demonstrated) against the main Competence Matrix. Ethical suitability is assessed from references.

We use an adapted competence matrix which has been aligned with the National Occupational Standards in Archaeological Practice (NOS). For a detailed breakdown, please visit the Training Online Resource Centre for Archaeology (TORC) website

Specialist matrices

CIfA has a series of specialist competence matrices, which have been compiled by our Special Interest Groups and two external groups and are tailored to specific areas.
These are to assist applicants in identifying what information they should give to the Validation committee to demonstrate competence at the relevant accredited grade.

Please see below for a full list of pdf versions. Those with a star are new in 2019.

Academia and research*


Buildings archaeology

Diggers (fieldwork)





Graphics (illustrators)

Information Management

International heritage

Local authority, HER & Development Control*

Museum Archaeology


Project Management

Information Management SIG has also developed some example supporting evidence information to assist further.