POSTPONED - Ethics workshop

This online ethics workshop is for anyone interested in understanding and discussing ethical issues in professional archaeology - at all levels of the profession.

 

 

NOTE - this workshop has now been postponed from it's original date of 27 October -a new date will be confirmed shortly and is likely to be held in mid-late November.

 

Description

One of the hallmarks of professional institutes and registers is that they have developed codes of ethical behaviour binding on all those they accredit. These rules are created by professionals to deal with complex situations where right and wrong are not easily perceived and may not even be fixed.

Using case studies developed from real-life experiences in archaeological practice, the scenarios in this interactive workshop will allow participants to explore what happens when different roles in commercial fieldwork have conflicting motivations, and the ethical dimensions of going beyond the contract when that happens.

This represents a valuable opportunity for participants to undertake Continuing Professional Development/Education and it can help professional archaeologists to gain facility in setting about and responding to everyday ethical situations. Having thought about ethical challenges in a workshop makes it much easier to deal with similar issues later encountered in real life!



Learning outcomes
By attending this workshop, delegates can expect to come away with a greater understanding of

  • the importance of professional ethics in archaeological practice
  • why good people sometimes do the wrong things
  • ethical decision-making and handling ethical dilemmas
  • how professional ethics are an asset not a hazard

 

Featured presenters

  • Kenneth Aitchison – Chair of the Register of Professional Archaeologists’ Committee on Ethics
  • Peter Hinton – Chief Executive, Chartered Institute for Archaeologists

 

Additional info

This will be a web-based workshop using Zoom. Links will be sent to registered attendees the day before the workshop. The workshop will be starting at 17:00 BST / 12:00 EDT / 11:00 CDT / 9:00 PDT - to confirm the workshop time in your time zone, please click here.

 

Refunds

A full refund may be given on cancellations up to one week before the event. Within one week, a 50% refund will be given up to 24 hours before the event. Once the event has started, refunds may only be given in exceptional circumstances. To request a refund, please email us at conference@archaeologists.net

 

October 27th, 2021 5:00 PM (GMT/UTC+0)   to   7:00 PM (GMT/UTC+0)
Standard event registration (GBP)
CIfA member £ 10.00
RPA registrant £ 10.00
Non CIfA member/RPA registrant £ 50.00
CIfA event bursary recipient £ 0.00
Standard event registration (GBP)
CIfA member £ 10.00
RPA registrant £ 10.00
Non CIfA member/RPA registrant £ 50.00
CIfA event bursary recipient £ 0.00