User login

Follow CIfA

Facebook link Linked In link Twitter link

Gloucestershire County Council Archaeology Service

GCCAS provides information and advice on the archaeology and historic environment of Gloucestershire, and undertakes a wide range of research, survey and fieldwork in the county and adjoining areas.

RO ID: 
42
Employees: 
23
Responsible post-holder(s): 
Jan Wills, County Archaeologist
Address: 

Environment Directorate, Shire Hall, Gloucester, GL1 2TH

Telephone: 
01452 425683
Fax: 
01452 425356
Email: 
jan.wills@gloucestershire.gov.uk
Website: 
www.gloucestershire.gov.uk/archaeology
Planning Authority Contact: 

Charles Parry, Senior Archaeologist T: 01452 425669, F: 01452 424356, E: charles.parry@gloucestershire.gov.uk

Commercial Services Contact: 

Paul Nichols, Senior Project Officer T: 01452 425681, F: 01452 424356, E: paul.nichols@gloucestershire.gov.uk

Regions: 
Wales
West Midlands
South West (inc. Isles of Scilly)
Services: 
maintainance of HERs/NMRs
historic environment advice to/on behalf of national and local government on policy, strategy and development control
watching briefs
object conservation
measured and topographical survey
maritime archaeology
geophysical survey
field evaluation
excavation
characterisation and appraisals
building analysis and recording
analysis of artefacts, industrial residues, environmental material and human remains
public outreach, participation and events
interpretation and displays
provision of commercial historic environment advice to developers, public inquiries
EIAs, DBAs, documentary research
design of investigations, procurement of services, contract management and monitoring
conservation management plans
Contact: 

Tim Grubb, SMR Officer T: 01425 425705, F: 01452 424356, F: tim.grubb@gloucestershire.gov.uk

Contact: 

Kurt Adams, Finds Liason Officer T: 01452 425705, F: 01452 425356, E: kurt.adams@gloucestershire.gov.uk

Contact: 

Anna Morris, Outreach Officer T: 01452 425705, F: 01452 424356, E:anna.morris@gloucestershire.gov.uk

Chartered Institute for Archaeologists
Miller Building, University of Reading
Reading, Berkshire RG6 6AB

0118 378 6446
admin@archaeologists.net