User login

Follow CIfA

Facebook link Linked In link Twitter link

British Archaeological Awards 2012

Nominations are now open for the 2012 British Archaeological Awards

The British Archaeological Awards are a showcase for the best in UK archaeology and a central event in the archaeological calendar. Established in 1976, they now encompass six Awards, covering every aspect of UK archaeology.

The purpose of the Awards is to advance public education in the study and practice of archaeology in all its aspects in the United Kingdom, and in particular by the granting of awards for excellence and/or initiative. The Awards are committed to recognising significant contributions to knowledge and the importance of research, professional standards and excellence, involvement of local communities in the study of archaeology, effective dissemination and presentation of archaeological knowledge, and innovation and originality of approach.

The 2012 British Archaeological Awards will be announced at a ceremony to be held on Monday 9 July 2012 at the British Museum in London. The ceremony will be the launch event for the 2012 Festival of British Archaeology, a huge celebration of archaeology run by the Council for British Archaeology with more than 750 events taking place across the UK.

2012 Awards

Best Archaeological Project

For a programme of research advancing the knowledge and practice of archaeology in the UK

Best Community Archaeology Project

For a programme of research advancing the knowledge and practice of archaeology in the UK

Best Archaeological Book

For a book publication which increases understanding of the past and introduces it to new audiences

Best Public Representation of Archaeology For a television or radio programme, ICT program or web site, newspaper or magazine feature which stimulates interest, advances understanding and changes perceptions of the past

Best Archaeological Innovation

For an initiative likely to lead to significant improvements in archaeological practice which facilitate new perceptions of the past

Best Archaeological Discovery

For a discovery which advances understanding and stimulates public imagination of the past

Please see the Awards 2012 web site at for further category information relating to each Award. The nomination form for the 2012 Awards can be downloaded in Word format.

Entries must be submitted by the end of 29 February 2012 and must relate to work undertaken in the period since February 2010. For further guidance on the 2012 Awards or any other query please contact the Administrator.

Contact details:

Sarah Howell
Administrator for BAA
c/o Robert Kiln Charitable Trust
15a Bull Plain
Hertford SG14 1DX
Tel: 01992 554962

Chartered Institute for Archaeologists
Miller Building, University of Reading
Reading, Berkshire RG6 6AB

0118 378 6446